AAG 2020 Denver

The 2020 AAG annual meeting was scheduled to be held Monday, April 6, to Friday, April 10, 2020, in Denver, Colo. On March 11, AAG council decided unanimously to cancel the in-person annual meeting due to growing worldwide health concerns from the COVID-19 virus. Taking into consideration all of the work that been put into sessions and posters AAG facilitated a virtual conference at the same planned time for those who still wanted to hold their sessions. Some sessions, themes, and plenaries were postponed until AAG 2021 Seattle.

World Geography Bowl 

With the cancellation of the in-person AAG annual meeting due to restrictions on travel and gathering during the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 World Geography Bowl has regrettably also been canceled. The World Geography Bowl Executive Committee and the AAG acknowledge the students who qualified for their regional geography bowl teams and who will not get a chance to participate in what is a highly anticipated event for students, spectators, and volunteers alike. 

  • NESTVAL: Victor Pavao, Salem State University; Michael Harris, University of New Hampshire; Clayton Titus, Plymouth State University; Daniel Finn, University of Massachusetts Amherst; Mary Hartford, University of Connecticut; Mark Doherty, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • GPRM: Carissa Dowden, University of Nebraska- Lincoln; Logan Megard, South Dakota State University; Ricardo Aranha, Kansas State University; Jordan Watson, Kansas State University; Savannah Allard, South Dakota State University; Trevin Dinkel, South Dakota State University
  • East Lakes: Robert Homan, Western Michigan; Lydia Serwaah Yeboah, Western Michigan; Kevin McKeehan, Michigan State University; Mitchell Guza, Saginaw Valley State University; Stephanie Carr, Muskegon Community College; Graeme Timmeney, Western Michigan
  • SEDAAG: Alex Chrvala, University of Mary Washington; Chase Womack, University of North Alabama; Andrew Bagwell, Appalachian State University; Nathanuel Oxford, University of Tennessee - Chattanooga; Alec Biles, University of Mary Washington; Sanika Mosher, East Tennessee State University
  • SWAAG: Joshua Hodge, Texas State University; Jesse Andrews, Oklahoma State University; Walter Furness, Texas State University; Katherina Kang, University of North Texas
  • Middle States: Madison Clark, Kutztown University; Alexander Findeis, SUNY Geneseo; Elijah Freiman, SUNY Geneseo; Sasha Leidman, Rutgers University; Sean McLoughlin, West Chester University; Alex Sankaran, West Chester University; Tashanna Walker, Rutgers University
  • West Lakes: Grant Burke, University of Northern Iowa; Petr Grin, University of Northern Iowa; Christopher Archuleta, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Alexis Sjullie, Central College; Paula Carvalho de Castro, University of Northern Iowa; Seth Kannarr, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville; Alterntaives: Claire Iott, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville; Natalie Nunez, University of Northern Iowa

The World Geography Bowl is a quiz bowl tournament held at AAG’s annual conference, featuring teams of graduate and undergraduate geography students representing each of the AAG’s regional divisions. Contestants are selected by regional divisions via a competitive process, which in many divisions includes participation in a regional geography bowl held at the division’s annual meeting. Typically, approximately 50 students benefit each year from World Geography Bowl stipends. The competition is fully staffed by volunteers, who write and edit questions and help run the proceedings as judges, scorekeepers and moderators. Thank you to the 2020 World Geography Bowl sponsors and volunteers for their continued support. We look forward to an exciting bowl at the 2021 AAG Annual Meeting in Seattle April 7-11!